h1

Liberating the Den

December 8, 2006

Today I started de-cluttering. I started with the den, our most cluttered room. I figured if I could tackle that, I could handle anything! LOL

I started with Dan’s desk first, because I wanted to hurry up and do it before he got home and re-claimed stuff I decided to throw away or otherwise change. Here’s the before photo:

dandesk1.JPG

And after much organizing, dusting, etc., here’s the after pic:

dandesk2.JPG

Next was the TV & TV stand/cabinet thingy. It was a smaller bit of clutter to deal with, so it was easier. Before:

tvstand1.JPG

And after:

tvstand2.JPG

Continuing around the room in a clockwise direction brought me to my desk. Yikes! I took a bit of a break before I started that job — it just seemed so messy and besides, how could I possibly part with any of my critical “stuff?!”

As it turns out, there was quite a bit that wasn’t so critical. Like receipts from mailing eBay packages over a year ago. I’m pretty sure that if the buyers haven’t contacted me to say that their package is missing by this point, I’m not going to hear from them. Anyway, my mess of a desk before:

mydesk1.JPG

I got rid of a lot of things, and reorganized all of those little cubbyholes so it made more sense. I still have a lot of stuff on my desk, but I don’t have one of those little drawers to hold things like extra pens, rubber bands, and paper clips. So this is the best I can do right now:

mydesk2.JPG

Next was the bookshelf, which is packed enough that it didn’t need too much decluttering. I selected some books to get rid of so that newer acquisitions would have room on the shelf instead of being layed horizontally across the tops of the other books. Here’s the before:

shelves1.JPG

Most of the clutter was in front of the shelves. It’s gone now. Here’s the after:

shelves2.JPG

I like my “new” den. So much so, that I think I might ban anyone else from coming in here. LOL How else is it going to stay like this?

3 comments

  1. way to go! I’m very impressed with your work! Now you can declutter my dining room .. again.. sighs.


  2. You have been busy! When my sister called me this morning, she said “Wow, Julie sure is giving a lot of stuff away.” LOL!


  3. […] to declutter another room! And it was another doozy of a room, too! I actually didn’t get rid of much […]



Leave a Reply

