h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Preheating the Oven

December 7, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

I am not quite clueless in the kitchen, but I’m certainly no Rachael Ray. One of the most frustrating stupid mistakes I make is forgetting to preheat the oven. Yes, really. After all, a lot of recipes don’t tell you what temperature you’re cooking at until you get to the “bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until golden brown.” AFTER you’ve done all of the preparation work.

I figured I could stick the food in a cold oven and turn it on, then try to guess how much extra time to cook it. Or wait until the oven is preheated, then put the dish in (thereby delaying what time dinner starts). Neither of those was very appealing to me, though, so I came up with a different solution.

I keep all of my favorite recipes on 3×5 index cards. At the top of the card, I write the name of the dish and over in the top right hand corner, I write the preheat temperature. It’s the first thing I see before I start looking at the ingredients list. This way, when the food is ready, so is the oven. 🙂

3 comments

  1. I have done the same thing! Great idea. I could even highlight the oven setting on old recipe cards.


  2. Great idea! I bet your recipes are so organized! Most of the time when I walk into the kitchen to cook I turn the oven on without even knowing what temperature I need. Once I’ve got dinner started I check the recipe and adjust the temperature.


  3. I used to do the same thing too until “one-too-many” times later made me make sure to look for the oven temp. first. Great tip! Thanks for sharing =)



Leave a Reply

