h1

To Do Done!

November 30, 2006

I was drowning in to-do items last night.. so much so that I knew I was not going to be able to sleep well.   Last week there was Thanksgiving, plus Sophia was sick all week.  This week we had a two hour fog delay on Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, which meant no pre-K for Sophia (and no uninterrupted private time for me).  For a week and a half, I hadn’t done much of anything other than essential daily maintenance type stuff.  So after giving Dan a nightcap and tucking him into bed around 11 PM, I came out to the den and spent three hours being wildly productive:

  • paid bills and balanced check book
  • prepared bank deposit so bill payments wouldn’t bounce
  • packed a lunch for Trevor to take to school today
  • did two loads of laundry
  • emptied the dishwasher and put away clean dishes, then put dirty dishes in dishwasher (goodness, but I love to see an empty kitchen sink!)
  • caught up on emailing friends that I had not emailed in some time
  • monitored the weather forecast for the possibility of a fouth day of pre-K getting fogged-out (thankfully, it wasn’t)
  • printed shipping labels for paid eBay auctions
  • made a to-do list for daylight hours today
  • general tidying up of items left strewn throughout the house, including Trevor’s lost wallet and his math workbook

I was up until after 2 AM doing all this and although I’ve been paying the price this evening with a tired headache, it was so worth it! There is something oddly satisfying (to me, anyway) about spending a big chunk of time getting all of the minutiae crossed off of the to do list without interruptions!

I rediscovered my brain last night — I actually can remember things as I pass from room to room, and I can finish things once I start them! It’s amazing! Today I was so energized from the realization that I’m not slowly losing my ability to think and function as a normal human being, I tackled nearly everything on my to do list for today as well. I didn’t even realize until 10:00 that I hadn’t consumed any caffeine. At all!

todo1.JPG

(I’ve always had a problem with “phone work.” I just hate making phone calls. No idea why, and usually after I do it, I realize that it was rather quick and easy. So calling the zoo is going to the top of tomorrow’s list.)

Anyway, I know most folks would think I’m crazy to say this, but I love days when I am super productive. It takes a lot of worry/stress away from me. So today, as crazy as it was, is what I would call a good day.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to bed. 🙂

One comment

  1. Hey, I saw Humane Society on there. Well…..?



Leave a Reply

