h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Christmas Edition

November 15, 2006

wfmwchristmas.jpg
Every year I make my family members a calendar with photos of the kids. The first time that I did it (probably close to 10 years ago), I did it because I couldn’t afford to buy “real” presents. Well, guess what? I received so many compliments and heartfelt thanks that I decided to make one every year.

Yes, I know you can get them done professionally for about $30. But if you have a color printer and a decent photo editing program, why not make your own? You can still get it bound (for about $5) and it will look just as good — maybe even better — than anything that a copy store could produce. Plus you can add notes about family members’ birthdays, anniversaries, etc.

Here’s a preview of our 2007 calendar’s July page, which I just completed on Monday.
julyphoto.png

Now, to make this page, I took three photographs of fireworks and arranged them together to be the background. Then I took Sophia’s photo and erased all the clutter in the background and placed it on top of the fireworks. I added a title (Happy Independence Day) and voila! One down, eleven to go!

12 comments

  1. Great Idea!


  2. What a great job you’ve done. I love family calendars.


  3. This is a fantastic idea. I think I might get myself motivated and do the same. My husband makes a video of the kids each year. I can join in the creativity and make a calendar! It is early enough-I might even get it finished in time for Christmas! Thanks!


  4. Very creative! I have been tempted to use the Flickr or Snapfish options for calendars. Would be fun to make one myself too though!

    Thanks!


  5. How nice! I wished my color printer was working!
    I pay to have mine done at Snapfish every year…it works out to be about $15.00/calendar. They
    don’t let you personalize it so much….I think that I would really like that! Might have to talk to hubby! 🙂

    **I just received a sample of these tiny pocket books that Snapfish is making now…you might look at http://www.snapfish.com ….if you are already making calendars, these tiny books might be easy for you to print up as well and give as gifts!

    Blessings!
    Tracy


  6. WOW! You have impressed me!


  7. […] Great idea for relatives who don’t see your kids very often. A personalized calendar. I did this a few years in a row for grandparents who lived too far away and never saw the kids. This was a great idea and they loved it. Guess I’m not the only one who thought so because Multitasking Mama had the same great idea. […]


  8. My husband’s sister and brother-in-law do this every year with pictures of their 3 little ones. It is our favorite gift each year! It’s so much fun to see the pictures for each month, plus it’s a non-cluttery gift. 🙂 Great post!


  9. Very cute & a great idea! Thanks =)


  10. That’s a wonderful idea! I’ve heard snapfish.com is really good too though I’ve never tried them. Thanks for sharing!


  11. This is exactly what we are doing at the Toddler Group which I run. The children will be decorating them themselves for their Grandparents.


  12. […] Not too long ago I blogged about how I make a personalized calendar for our family members each year. I thought I’d share some of my favorite photos from the 2007 calendar. […]



Leave a Reply

