h1

A Long and Winding Post

November 6, 2006

Okay, this is a long story with a lot of links and such, and probably of very little significance to anyone but me. Now, that being said…

I just found out that there is a movie coming out called Night at the Museum and I can’t wait to see it!! Here’s the synopsis:

Good-hearted dreamer Larry Daley, despite being perpetually down on his luck, thinks he’s destined for something big. But even he could never have imagined how big, when he accepts what appears to be a menial job as a graveyard-shift security guard at a museum of natural history. During Larry’s watch, extraordinary things begin to occur: Mayans, Roman Gladiators, and cowboys emerge from their diorama to wage epic battles; in his quest for fire, a Neanderthal burns down his own display; Attila the Hun pillages his neighboring exhibits, and a T-Rex reminds everyone why he’s history’s fiercest predator. Amidst the chaos, the only person Larry can turn to for advice is a wax figure of President Teddy Roosevelt , who helps our hero harness the bedlam, stop a nefarious plot, and save the museum.

Now, when I was a kid, we always took our school field trips to the Smithsonian Institute in Washington DC. My favorite museum was the Museum of Natural History, and I always got goosebumps when I looked at the animals because it seemed like their eyes followed me. So, between that and reading the fabulous book, From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E. L. Konigsburg, I created this very elaborate and imaginative fantasy wherein I am hiding away in a museum after hours and the exhibits come to life. Sometimes they were friendly, other times they were not.

When I was in high school, I was in the TAG (talented and gifted program) and I got to take a poetry workshop with a Romanian-born poet named Andrei Codrescu. At the time I just thought he was a quirky writer guy with a funny accent; I didn’t realize he was (or would be) a big deal in the literary world. I told Mr. Codrescu about my museum fantasy and he urged me to write a poem about it. I did:

Halls.
Display Cases.
Transparent glass barriers.
Eyes seem to move,
Watching.

In a single moment
After closing time,
The imprisoned animals come to life,
Seeking vengeance
Upon those who did them injury
And hold them captive
Within their glass dungeons.

What can I say? I was full of angst and righteous indignation when I was a teenager, but I’ve mellowed since then. Museum animals still give me a mild case of the willies, though. 🙂

2 comments

  1. I saw the trailer for this today!! My first thought — “ARGH! I wish I could see this with Julie!” :o)


  2. DITTO, Karen!!! I loved the Mixed up Files..as a kid and wished I could have done that too (even to this day)! What an adventure it would be. I see a road trip in the near future for movie day!
    Suz



Leave a Reply

