h1

Self Portrait Challenge: Imperfections #4

October 30, 2006

mymouth.JPG

Probably my biggest imperfection is my mouth. Not physically imperfect. Just imperfect in the way I use it. Let me count the ways…

1) I get too impatient too quickly, and snap at my loved ones like a shrew when my nerves are on edge.

2) I raise my voice, which I hate to do, but it seems to be the only way I can adequately express my frustration that doesn’t involve a pint of Ben & Jerry’s. When it comes to the kids, it’s often the only way I am able to get them to do what I’ve already nicely asked them to do 4 times.

3) I can be sarcastic, and it wasn’t until recently that I realized (because I was on the receiving end) how hurtful sarcasm can be. I was having a heated argument with someone and everything they hurled at me was dripping with sarcasm. We’ve reconciled since then, but I don’t think I will ever be as close to that person as I once was. As a result, I try very hard not to be sarcastic, especially when I’m arguing with someone I love.

4) I confide too much in others, and usually end up burned as a result. It’s only recently that I’ve learned to play my cards closer to my vest, but there are still occasions when I hear words coming out of my mouth while my brain is telling me to shut the heck up.

5) I talk about myself too much… when I am nervous or at a loss of what to say, or trying to let someone know that I understand how they feel, I talk about my experiences. I’m sure this comes across poorly, but my intentions are good.

6) I speak too soon. I answer a question “yes” or “no” without taking time to think about what my answer really should be. If I end up changing my mind once I’ve reasoned through it, I worry that it makes me seem wishy-washy or weak, especially where the kids are concerned.

I try to remember to choose my words carefully in all situations, but it is a constant struggle.

Men are born with two eyes, but only one tongue, in order that they should see twice as much as they say.Charles Caleb Colton

3 comments

  1. That all sounds very, very human.

    (I’m very guilty of #5..as proven by this comment!)

    I like the photo.


  2. This is me!

    I do ALL those things too!

    Especially talk too loud, I seem to have a broken volume control.


  3. did you just describe me?
    love this post! thanks!



Leave a Reply

