h1

Arrrgggh, Matey! We Won First Prize!

October 29, 2006

Today they had a “trunk or treat” party at our church. Dan and I considered going as renaissance people (since we have a plethora of garb and gear) but opted instead for something a little different — pirates! We ordered some trinkets and props from Oriental Trading Company and pulled together some outfits… and we won first place for costumes & trunk decorating! Here’s a shot of me trying to look like a tough pirate chick:

trunkortreat2.JPG

The awesome coat I’m wearing was a gift from Dan’s sister, and it totally made my outfit! Dan used the pirate hat he bought in Disney World plus some of his renaissance garb. Sophia had a Wal Mart pirate costume I’d bought on clearance a year or two ago and Trevor… well, he chose not to participate. (I didn’t want to force him to as I know that peer pressure at this age can be tough… he might have it hard just trying to live down the fact that his dad was wearing tights!)

Anyway, it was a lot of fun, and I got to do face painting for the kids which I haven’t done in years but have always enjoyed. Now I’m going to spend the rest of the day scrapping and relaxing.

One comment

  1. awesome costume .. love it!



Leave a Reply

