h1

Self Portrait Challenge: Imperfections #3

October 17, 2006

Sophia announced to me this evening that she wants to get her hair cut. Short. As in a pageboy ‘do.

I swear, I nearly cried.

See, my darling daughter has got a gorgeous head of naturally curly hair — just scroll down to the previous post and you’ll see what I mean. It always looks beautiful, even (and especially) when it’s humid outside. Passersby will comment on how beautiful her hair is every single day.

As I sat there trying not to cry at the thought of those gorgeous locks being cut off, I realized that I have been living vicariously through her with regard to her hair. I’ve always struggled with my hair… trying to get Farrah Fawcett “wings,” the Dorothy Hammill wedge cut, the Jennifer Anniston updated shag ‘do, spiral perms, big hair, hair that defied gravity, blonde hair, red hair, bangs, no bangs… the list of failed experiments goes on and on.

I’ve never been 100% satisfied with the way my hair looked. Except when I was pregnant with Sophia, ironically enough. Every day was a good hair day when I was pregnant. When I passed by a mirror my vanity would get the best of me and I would stop to admire my hair. (Yes, I really did! I knew it wasn’t going to last and wanted to savor that oh-so-rare feeling of, “Wow, my hair really looks good today!”)

So freshly washed and halfway dried, here’s my imperfection this week: my hair.

hair.JPG

Leave a Reply

