h1

Dr. Laura, Shopping, and Bowling

October 14, 2006

Well, it’s been an action packed 24 hours for me. I left here Friday to go up to the big city with a friend. We had tickets to see Dr. Laura, whom we both respect very much.

(Most people, when I mention Dr. Laura, scrunch up their noses and say, “You like her?!?!” Well, yes, I do. I think she could be a little softer with her tone & choice of words, but I have never disagreed with her opinions. I wish the local radio station here still played her show; it was very enlightening.)

Protesters greeted us when we arrived, which was something that I hadn’t expected. But naturally, I had to take their picture for the scrapbook page:

protestors.JPG

It was hard to take the protesters too seriously, though, when they started singing, “Why Can’t We Be Friends?”

 

Anyway, the show was fabulous. Dr. Laura, as always gave out some great advice, which basically boiled down to love your spouse, fulfill your obligations, enjoy life, and save compassion for the innocent. Really it was more than that but it’s late and I’m tired, so that’s the condensed version.

 

This morning we headed out to Recollections, the premier scrapbooking store owned and operated by Michaels Arts & Crafts.

 

recollections.JPG

There are less than a dozen of them in the whole country, so this was a BIG DEAL. It was heavenly! And since I’d been given a generous monetary birthday gift from my mother with implicit instructions to spend it on me and only on me, I didn’t try too hard to control myself. 🙂

When I was just about ready to check out (having gone through the entire store twice) I was shocked to see that it was 2:15 PM! We’d spent well over two hours in the store!

After lunch, we headed home. I went straight to the bowling alley to reunite with my family, who had been invited to a birthday party for one of Sophia’s friends. I was skeptical as to whether Sophia would be able to bowl, but she did, and she had a blast!

 

bowling1.JPG

She even liked the day-glo shoes! Trevor was running neck and neck with Dan for who could get the higher score… they were tied up until the very last frame when Dan got a strike. Trevor was a little bummed but I assured him he had much better form than Dan did. I got a great shot of Trevor casting the ball down the alley, but unfortunately it looks like he’s headless, so here’s one of him waiting for his turn.

bowling2.JPG

So, that’s been the weekend thus far! It’s been a blast, and I can’t wait to (a) sleep in my own bed tonight, (b) get my pictures developed, and (c) scrapbook with all of my new goodies!

2 comments

  1. Wow! Sounds like you’ve had a blast of a weekend. And with all the goodies you bought at Recollections you’ll be able to make the fun last for ages.


  2. […] When I saw Dr. Laura last month, one of the audience questions was what she thought the single biggest problem facing society was. She thought about it for a moment, and said that the biggest problem in society these days is this notion that we should do whatever makes us happy rather than fulfilling our obligations, meeting our commmitments, and doing what we should do. She pointed out (rather brilliantly, I think) that if you do what is right, the happiness will follow. But if you do what makes you happy, you won’t really ever be content. Well said! […]



Leave a Reply

