h1

This & That

September 13, 2006

akeelah.jpgA few nights ago, Trevor and I watched “Akeelah and the Bee.” What an excellent movie! Very inspirational, with a lot of good role models who exhibited positive behavior traits (including most of the children, which was nice to see for a change). I highly recommend it for anyone, but especially for families with school-age children.

***

Tonight I went out for dinner & dessert with six very good friends. It was the first time we’d been able to get together after the busy-ness of summer. It was so good to see them again, and spend some nice (child-free) time chatting about everything under the sun! I feel so rejuvenated and happy!

***

This is the third week of school and my children have yet to have a 5-day school week. The first week was a “staggered start,” the second week had a Labor Day holiday, and the this week they had a day off for primary elections. I am hoping that next week when we finally get into the swing of things all five weekdays, my schedule will start to normalize a little bit and I will have a daily routine that becomes second nature.

***

notv.jpgThis week was designated by Sophia’s school as “TV Turn Off Week,” which means no TV. We have been abiding by that as a family, except for very late at night after the kids are in bed. Today it was hard to not turn on the TV, particularly this morning when Sophia woke me up earlier than I thought she would and she wanted to interact with me before I’d had even a single milligram of caffeine. Oddly enough, though, it doesn’t seem like it’s been much of a hardship for her. As she said, “It’s a good thing it isn’t ‘No Doll Week,’ Mommy, because I’d be really stressed out then!”

Leave a Reply

