h1

Out of the Closet

September 13, 2006

I did it. I officially came out of the closet. Yesterday I told some of my church-going friends that I am in fact a registered Democrat. *gasp*

Go ahead, slap my hands and call me a Godless heathen.

politicsreligion.gif

It shouldn’t be a big deal (or any of their business), but conventional wisdom states that if you are a Christian, you are expected to be fully aligned with the Republican Party. Central to this thought is the Republican party’s stand on abortion, which generally leans toward the pro-life side… but seldom involves taking any action in that direction. (Have you ever noticed that, my Republican Christian friends? The GOP has been in power in the White House and in both houses of Congress for many years now… and has ANYTHING been done to change the abortion laws in this country? No.)

What the Republican Christians repeatedly ignore is that we are commanded many times in the Bible to look after the poor. (See Deuteronomy 14:28-29, Leviticus 25:35, Deuteronomy 15:11, James 1:27, and countless other examples.) The Republicans’ record on looking out for the little guy is abysmal at best. They are so busy trying to help the rich get richer that everyone else suffers.

Consider the minimum wage. It has not been increased since 1997 — nearly a decade ago! And if you think the cost of living hasn’t gone up much in the last 9 years, a quick glance at the gas pump the next time you fill up should bring reality crashing back down around you. Fortunately, states were given the ability to establish their own minimum wage levels, and some have done just that. But you can bet your bottom dollar (no pun intended) that it wasn’t a Republican who gave them that power.

Morgan Spurlock, creator of the documentary Supersize Me, did a fabulous episode on his TV series 30 Days where he and his fiancee atempted to live on minimum wage for one month in Cincinnati. They ended up in the hole by over a thousand dollars, and they were not living high on the hog during that month. (You can see a clip from that episode here.)

I’m a Democrat — always have been and probably always will be (unless I become a rich old white man, which doesn’t seem likely). Do I think they’re a great party? No, frankly, I don’t. Do I think they have all the answers? Nope, not even close. Do I think they’re so busy trying to please everyone that they end up not taking a stand for much of anything? Yes, for sure.

Do I think that the Republicans are any better? No, I do not.

2 comments

  1. What’s your thoughts on gay marriage? 🙂

    Just curious. Like you say, I don’t meet many Christian democrats. It’s a breath of fresh air.


  2. I am in favor of civil unions for legal purposes, but against marriage for gay couples.



Leave a Reply

