h1

My September 11 Story

September 11, 2006

911.jpgOn the morning of September 11, 2001, I was at work. Part of my job as the Public Relations director for the community action agency was reading the newspaper (a rather nice perk, I thought!). So when I arrived and settled in at my desk, the first thing I did was start reading the newspaper.

I had only been there about 15 minutes when Leo, the personnel director, came upstairs and asked if we’d heard that a plane had crashed into the World Trade Center in New York. I thought it was a shocking story — it had to be a freak accident. Then someone else came by and said a second plane had hit, and it started to become clear that it was more than a freak accident. Sue (the secretary who sat across from me) and I went into the Executive Director’s office and turned on his TV. We stood there watching, horrified, disbelieving. Other employees filed in and work essentially came to a standstill that morning as we all watched what was happening.

I picked Trevor up from school when someone said that the schools were closing early. It was a false rumor, as it turned out, but if we were under attack by bloodthirsty terrorists, I wanted to have my son with me. I also didn’t want someone else trying to explain to him what had been happening that day. That was my job. Unfortunately, I was completely at a loss for words to describe the pure evil I had seen that morning.

I don’t remember any specific thing that I saw or heard on the news coverage. I remember watching the BBC News report on the attacks. I remember worrying about my friends, Tom & Suzanne, who were vacationing in Austria at the time. But mainly I tried not to watch too much TV that day. After a while, I just couldn’t take it any more. So I took the ostrich approach and stuck my head in the sand, hoping that when I pulled it out, it would be gone. That didn’t work. Even now, 5 years later, we are still visualising and reliving and talking about that horrible day.

I had been pretty stoic up until one day that week when I had the TV on and they showed a memorial service being held at Westminster Abbey in London. The people assembled there — including the British royal family — sang “The Star Spangled Banner.” For some reason, that got to me more than anything else. Seeing people in another country show their support for us Americans… it was touching, but it was also a sign of just how dreadfully serious this was.

I had been baptized in the waters of the Atlantic Ocean on September 9, 2001, just two days earlier. I was a baby in Christ, and I had so many questions for God about this day. I still do, but I’m not as angry as I was then, and I know that He is at work in everything.



Where Was God on September 11, 2001?

How many of us have heard that question, “Where was your GOD when the World Trade Center and the Pentagon were attacked?”

Well I know where my GOD was the morning of September 11, 2001, and He was very busy!

He was trying to discourage anyone from taking these flights. Those four flights together held over 1000 passengers and there were only 266 aboard. He was on 4 commercial flights giving terrified passengers the ability to stay calm. Not one of the family members who were called by a loved one on one of the hijacked planes said that passengers were screaming in the background. On one of the flights he was giving strength to passengers to try to overtake the hijackers.

He was busy trying to create obstacles for employees at the World Trade Center. After all, only around 20,000 were at the towers when the first jet hit. Since the buildings held over 50,000 workers, this was a miracle in itself. How many of the people who were employed at the World Trade Center told the media that they were late for work or they had traffic delays?

He was holding up two 110 story buildings so that 2/3 of the workers could get out. I was so amazed that the top of the towers didn’t topple when the jets impacted. And when they did fall, they fell inward. GOD didn’t allow them to topple over, as many more lives would have been lost. And when the buildings went down, my GOD picked up almost 3,000 of his children and carried them home with him. Reassuring his frightened children that the worst was over and the best was yet to come.

He sat down and cried that 19 of His “misguided” children [terrorists] could have so much hate in their hearts. That they didn’t choose Him, but another god that doesn’t exist, and now they are lost forever.

He sent his children that are best trained for this disaster and had them save the few that were still alive, but unable to help themselves. And then sent many others to help in any way they were needed. He still wasn’t finished though; he held the loved ones that were left behind in his arms. He comforts them daily. His other children are given the strength to reach out to them and help them in any way they can.

And I believe he will continue to help us in what is to come. He will give the people in charge of this great nation the strength and the wisdom to do the right thing. He would never leave us in our time of need.

So when anyone asks, “Where was your GOD on September 11”, you can say “everywhere”! And yes, although this is without a doubt the worst thing I have seen in my life, I see God’s miracles in every bit of it. I keep praying for those who don’t believe in GOD, every chance I have. I can’t imagine going through such a difficult time and not believing in GOD… Life would be hopeless.

–Author Unknown


Like many people in the aftermath of the September 11 attacks, I started to evaluate my life. Each time I said goodbye to Dan or Trevor, I wondered if it would be the last time that I saw them. I realized that life was fragile and fleeting, and that nothing is as important as having your heart right with God and with those you love. Not on your deathbed when you’re old and frail, but every single day. Each word, each touch, each kiss is to be cherished as though it were the last. Because it just might be.That week, after months of unsuccessful attempts, and just 8 days before the date on which we agreed we would give up altogether, Sophia was conceived. She was born in June 2002, healthy and happy and a beautiful reminder of those feelings we were experiencing in the days after the attacks.

One comment

  1. Excellent post.

    And the quote “Where Was God on September 11, 2001?”, I loved. So true…

    God bless America.



Leave a Reply

