h1

2996: Honoring Juan Garcia

September 10, 2006

2996-11.jpg

2,996 is a tribute to the victims of 9/11.

On September 11, 2006, 2,996 volunteer bloggers
will join together for a tribute to the victims of 9/11.
Each person will pay tribute to a single victim.

We will honor them by remembering their lives,
and not by remembering their murderers.

 


I was assigned Juan Garcia, a 50 year old food service worker at the World Trade Center.

juangarcia.jpg

I have searched for the past few months but have not been able to find any information about Mr. Garcia. I don’t know if he left behind any family members. Was he a father? A grandfather? I don’t know if he was born in this country or elsewhere. I don’t know how or where, exactly, he died on that day five years ago.

What I do know is that he probably went to work on that Tuesday morning the same way I did — thinking that it was a beautiful early September day. The sun was shining and the sky was that gorgeous shade of bright blue that you only see in the fall, when the humidity has gone away and the air is crisp and clean smelling. Like me, he probably thought it was just another day at the job.

But it wasn’t.

Today, I remember Juan Garcia and the others who were murdered that day, and I pray for the loved ones they left behind.

2 comments

  1. You did very well given the information available. šŸ™‚

    I Remember Anna Williams Allison


  2. i know who he was and he has two sons and a daughter call sammy torres 19178373612



Leave a Reply

