h1

Works for Me: Digital Photo Printing

August 9, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

I am probably not saying anything that most people aren’t already aware of, but for me this was a grand revelation. You know those digital photo kiosks that they have at Wal Mart, Sam’s Club, and probably dozens of other stores? Use them, people… they are great!

One of the reasons I took so long to go digital was that I wanted the same quality print that I get from having my film developed on one of those big photo machines. I didn’t want to print my own photos (I know many people do and I don’t mean to sound paranoid, but there’s always some doubt in the back of my mind that the ink from a home printer will fade over time). I’ve used some online photo developing services (Snapfish, York, Winkflash, Film Works, etc.) and as good as the prints may have turned out, they just never have the same quality look and feel as my film prints.

So I usually opted to upload my digital pictures to the Sam’s Club web site and request one hour pickup. The photos were printed right there on the same machine as my film prints — I got film print quality for my digital photos, and all was good. Until I discovered that my 8+ megapixel camera took some big honkin’ photos that were too big to upload. So each photo had to be individually re-sized before I could upload it. How tedious!

I was telling Dan about how frustrating the upload process was and he suggested that I just take my memory card to one of the kiosk thingies and do the prints that way. I was afraid I wouldn’t get the film quality prints if I did that, so I asked the clerk (who I am sure thought I was insane) to make sure that the prints were printed on THE EXACT SAME MACHINE as if I’d brought them in on a roll of film. She said yes, so I tried it.

It was fabulous! I had uploaded the pictures and ordered my prints in about two minutes flat. I got them an hour later (I never have a hard time killing an hour in a store) and they looked great! No resizing, no waiting for a sometimes quirky internet connection, no inferior quality prints that I have to wait to get in the mail.

I am officially a digital picture taking happy camper! 🙂

6 comments

  1. Really? You can use your memory card? I did not know that – I’ve been waiting for my husband to put everything on CD…. huh. Well. I’m going to be bringing my memory card with me to the grocery store this weekend. Thanks!


  2. LOL what fun!


  3. This is a great idea. I do the upload thing, but there are times it would be nice to be able to do it more quickly/simply. Thanks!


  4. You know, I’ve never tried one of those kiosks. I usually put two or three photos on an 8 x 11 photo paper and print and cut them. But I think this might be a cheaper way to go, and maybe higher quality. Next round of photos I have…I think I’ll try this!


  5. I had no idea it was as simple as taking in the memory card. I am sold! I always print them at work, but have never been happy with the quality of print, even though we “supposedly” have this top of the line photo printer. Yippee!


  6. […] aquarium pictures printed before they magically disappear again. Fortunately, since I’m using the kiosk, it only takes a few […]



Leave a Reply

