h1

What a Great Kids’ Book!

August 8, 2006

I scored big at one of my favorite thrift stores yesterday. Their selection of children’s books is usually mediocre at best, but for some reason yesterday they were loaded up with good books in good condition. I bought about two dozen for Sophia and a dozen for eBay.

Tonight at bathtime, she asked me if I would read to her while she was in the tub. I looked at her quizzically for a moment because it seemed a strange request, so she added, “because I love books!” Well, alright-y then!

chrysanthemum1.jpgI picked up Chrysanthemum by Kevin Henkes and started reading it to her. I’ve never read this story before (but based on my track record with these things, I realize I am probably the only mommy who hasn’t) and I thought it looked cute.

Wow, what a great story for young kids, especially as they start school! It was just super — even Trevor got sucked in to listening to it and I think we all enjoyed it a lot. I highly recommend it, if you happen to be one of those moms like me who hasn’t yet discovered it. Needless to say, I’ve added some other Kevin Henkes books to our Amazon wish list now. I hope they are as good as this one!

Leave a Reply

