h1

Shoulda Left Well Enough Alone

July 9, 2006

Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl is one of my very favorite movies. It had just the right mix of suspense, fantasy, romance and comedy to make it terrific. I was so looking forward to the sequel, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Man’s Chest, that I had the release date memorized and purchased tickets in advance. I even blogged about it back in February.

pirates.jpg

I should have just been content with my misty-eyed memories of the original film. This film was quite a disappointment… so much so that I will probably wait for the third film to be released on DVD before viewing it. Without giving too much away, here is a partial list of my grievances against the film:

Not enough Bill Nighy. 😦

A half-hour long segment featuring cannibals that was funny, but completely unnecessary for the story line.

The conduct of Ms. Elizabeth Swann. (I’m still seething over this one.) Not to mention the lack of resolution/consequences for her conduct at the end of the film,.

Far too many things that were not explained and/or just didn’t make sense.

I don’t put much stock in professional reviews and purposely avoided them prior to going this evening (critics pretty much hate everything, don’t they?) but I’d be interested to know if other real folks like me were disappointed in the movie. Your two cents?

Leave a Reply

