h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Prayer

July 5, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

In recent months, I’ve come to realize that I have a very unhealthy relationship with food.

I am an emotional eater, turning to food for comfort whenever I am sad, tired, bored, angry, stressed, depressed, etc. When I realize that’s what I’m doing, I can (sometimes) stop the behavior in its tracks. But most of the time I am on eating auto-pilot, and I don’t even know why.

I am absolutely certain that my problem is not what I eat or how much (although those are certainly the factors responsible for my weight gain!)…. no, the problem is WHY I am eating that way. Try as I might, I just couldn’t figure out why. A month or two ago, I finally began to pray that God would reveal to me the source of my problem… because I knew that no matter how many diets I tried and no matter how much exercise I did, without understanding WHY I was eating the way I was, nothing would really change.

I prayed about it every night in the shower (I do all of my best praying in the shower — it’s the one place I have complete solitude and peace, if only for a few minutes!) and asked the small women’s group at church to pray for me as well. There were no flashes of light or heavenly choruses accompanying the revelation I sought. But I kept praying and waiting.

Then, this week, I got it. The answer, the information I’ve been looking for for the past several months and have needed for 20+ years!! I was able to define and articulate the reason behind my destructive eating, and with that revelation came something even more important: hope. So now I am setting out on a path to correct the error of my ways, to heal and move forward in a way that is healthy both emotionally and physically. And through that process, too, I will pray for strength and patience and most of all, wisdom.

Prayer is such a vital part of any believer’s life. I can’t tell you how many times prayer has soothed me and allowed me to go back to sleep in the middle of the night when I woke up troubled by past and future events. I can’t tell you how many times I have been able to release my worries by simply asking God to take care of it for me. I can’t tell you how many times God has answered my prayers, in big ways and in little ways. Not always the answer that I wanted, but always the answer that I needed.

God is good, all the time. And He wants to hear from us.

4 comments

  1. Prayer. Works for me, too!


  2. Prayer definitely works for me as well! Good luck!

    I posted my first WFMW. Stop by and take a peek. 🙂


  3. Thanks for this tip! I have been struggling with my weight recently and I just needed to hear that I should be praying about it. Thanks again!


  4. […] depression. The author wrote this, but I easily could have. In essence, this is what I wrote about here. Criticism can be a very destructive force, whether it comes from ourselves or others (the need to […]



Leave a Reply

