h1

My, How They’ve Grown!

June 25, 2006

eans.jpg

Here’s the latest photo of my lima bean plants. I noticed today that they were starting to become twisted and vine-like, so I’ve moved them next to a clear (as in not covered with ivy) portion of the fence on our pool deck. That way they can work their way around the fence without getting tangled up in some other plant. I didn’t know if they needed to be staked or not, so I Googled “Fordhook lima beans” and discovered that apparently there are two types — bush and pole. The seed packet says these are bush variety. I’m still basically clueless but assuming that I don’t have to stake them and hoping that nature will take its course with minimal intervention from me. 🙂

One comment

  1. It looks like you are well on your way to a plate of lima beans! Have you ever read A Bad Case of Stripes by David Shannon?



Leave a Reply

