h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Gift Bags

June 21, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

I really don’t like gift bags. Half the fun of getting a present is the anticipation that builds up while you are unwrapping it. But since my family and I receive gifts in gift bags rather often, I only have two choices — throw them away or save and reuse them. It seems a shame to just toss them, so I hang onto them and hope that the person I’m giving the gift to doesn’t dislike them as much as me.

The problem with keeping them, however, is that they tend to stack up. The generic ones are easy to deal with but holiday-specific ones need to be kept for nearly a year before you can re-use them! My solution, which not only keeps them neat and flat, but also visible and easily within reach (so I don’t forget about them), is this:

gift-bags.jpg

Fancy, huh? A plastic grocery bag on a plastic clothes hanger. It isn’t pretty and you can’t buy it at a home organization store, but it works for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

12 comments

  1. Oooo, I like that one! Great idea!


  2. Good idea, I like it.


  3. I really like that. I’m going to give it a try.


  4. That IS a good idea!


  5. That is a great idea!


  6. that is wonderful. I always store them in one of the bigger gift bags. But that bag always falls over etc. hanging them up is great! ๐Ÿ™‚


  7. Oh I *love* this idea and am so going to do it as soon as I get home from work!!! I swear those bags multiply like guppies and then they get all ratty looking. Thanks so much! ๐Ÿ™‚


  8. This is a wonderful idea. Mine are so disorganized- I really appreciate you sharing this ๐Ÿ™‚


  9. Oh, good idea. I usually end up tossing them halfway thru the year after picking them up a million times.


  10. I like it!! Looks like a great idea.


  11. It may sound pitiful, but I actually got tears in my eyes when I read your tip. LOL Now I can free up a couple of my wrapping station drawers and the bags won’t get ripped up when I am trying to open the drawers! Thanks so much!


  12. This is such a great idea. I have them in clear storage that are stacked at the top of my linen closet and SUCH a pain to get at. I’m reorganizing closets this weekend so this will be great!



Leave a Reply

