h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Be Prepared

June 14, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

Well, I was sitting here this morning wondering what I could contribute to Works for Me Wednesday. I ran out of time trying to come up with an idea, though, as I was taking Sophia to the movies at 10 AM.

As we were coming up to the theatre, she started telling me that she wasn’t feeling well, and her tummy hurt. We were about to enter the parking lot when she said she thought she might throw up. She has never been wrong about this, so I floored it, pulled into a parking space, and zipped around to her side of the car to open the door. As soon as I did, she lost her breakfast. Fortunately most of it ended up on the outside of the car and on the ground, but there was a little bit on her shirt and more than a little bit inside the car.

Thankfully, when she became potty trained, I didn’t stop carrying a diaper bag. I keep her old diaper bag in the trunk of the car, with a small stack of baby wipes, anti-bacterial goo, a full change of clothes for her and (most important) a few plastic bags. This morning I used the wipes to clean up the mess, then changed her shirt, washed my hands, and put all the yucky napkins and wipes in a plastic bag to throw away so I didn’t have to leave barf-soaked trash in the parking lot. The shirt went in the other plastic bag until we got home so we didn’t have to smell it.

Most of the time I don’t even think about the diaper bag, but when I needed it, I sure was glad to have it there!

4 comments

  1. Oh, poor Sophia. Barfing is no fun.You’re a good mom to be prepared!


  2. I have a backpack in my trunk with clothes for me and the kids, for similar reasons. It’s about time I haul it out and make sure everything is seasonally appropriate and still fits. Thanks for the reminder!


  3. Good thing you are prepared! I always have a change of clothes in my 4 yr old son’s backpack and I take it everywhere. My hubby doesn’t though. I am sure he is goign to have a disaster one day when he doesnt’ have it. I have left an extra pair of my son’s underwear in my husband’s truck incase he needs that – but i really should add a set of clothes, wipes and plastic ags. thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Hope she is feeling better now – poor thing.


  4. Your story reminds me to ALWAYS be prepared no matter how old or independent we think our children are. How is your daughter feeling?


  5. A smart woman. I don’t think I’ll abandon the diaper bag until the boys have hit puberty. Maybe not even then.



Leave a Reply

