h1

Works for me Wednesday: Cell Phones Abroad

May 31, 2006

worksformewed.jpg

Everyone’s got a cell phone nowadays, and while it’s great that you can program all of your important phone numbers into its memory banks, what do you do when you’re out runninga gazillion and two errands and you remember that you needed to call some place that you only call once a year or so (if that)? Wait until you get home (at which point you will have completely forgotten about it)? Dial 411 and pay a buck to get the number?

When we get a new phone book, I take the old one and put it in the car, under the seat. And while I wouldn’t recommend looking up a number while you’re driving, you can at least look it up while you’re sitting at a stoplight or you can pull over to look it up.

4 comments

  1. Great idea! My WFMW is also about cell phones 🙂


  2. We also have a phone book in our car! Great minds think alike, eh? 🙂

    I am LOVING this WFMW …I am coming up with some GREAT ideas through it!


  3. What a great way to recycle those old phone books!


  4. You can also call 1-800-FREE-411. It’s just like the regular 411, except that it’s a computer system and you have to be pretty articulate when speaking your request. It doesn’t always understand my southern drawl the first time around. It sometimes plays a short (2-3 seconds) ad before it gives you the number. For instance if I request Pizza Hut’s number, it will play a pizza hut ad first. But I can deal with that over the $1.40 my cell company charges!! I use it all the time. It’s great! The phonebook idea is great too…especially when you aren’t exactly sure of the name of the place you need.



Leave a Reply

