h1

Self-Portrait Challenge: Introduce Yourself #4

May 25, 2006

selfportrait4-christian.jpg

I am a Christian.

I’ve already written about my spiritual background and how I came to be a Christian. It is not easy to talk about my current relationship with God … not because I am uncomfortable or embarrassed, but because it is so difficult to articulate. I will try, though…

Nearly every Sunday when we are in church, and at other times throughout the week when I find myself in close communication with God, I cry. I do not cry because I am sad, however. I cry because I am so overwhelmed with joy that God is cradling me in the palm of His hand, protecting me from the world. I cry because He has blessed me so richly when I have not deserved it. I cry because I know that even though I must say goodbye to Dan at some point while we are alive (although hopefully not for many years to come!), I will be able to see him again and live with him again in eternity. I cry because there are people I love who have not experienced the peace and the joy that I have known since surrendering all to Christ in February 2000.

I am a Christian. I am not perfect. I am simply trying my best to live the way Jesus wants me to and to grow closer to God every day.

2 comments

  1. I think that was very articulate. Quite beautiful.


  2. i get it.

    and it’s beautiful and sacred.



Leave a Reply

