h1

Self Portrait Challenge: Introduce Yourself #1

May 2, 2006

I am a mother.

I have had many different jobs in my life, but this is the one that I have had the longest. I became a mother on June 12, 1994, when my son Trevor was born. I was promoted to the position of Mother of Two on June 2, 2002, when my daughter Sophia was born. The hours are terrible and the work is demanding, but the benefits are excellent.

I started out in this position determined that I would not let motherhood define who I am. I told myself that I was (and would remain) a woman first and foremost…. “mommy” was just a phase of life. It’s almost comical how much I have changed since then. Despite my intentions, being my kids’ mom has defined me, particularly since choosing this as my full time profession and leaving my office job behind in 2002. I am, as Dr. Laura would say, my kids’ mom. It’s who I am, it’s what I do, it’s how I live.

Motherhood has also changed me in ways that I wouldn’t have expected and couldn’t have imagined. It has made me more sensitive about death, the future, the environment, faith, values, courtesy, affluence, and a host of other topics. I think hard about things that I took for granted before, wondering what sort of effect they will have on my children and on my children’s children. I cry more… at sad movies, sappy commercials, and injustice. I appreciate my own parents more now that I am a parent. I reflect on my own life and am absolutely brought to tears by how blessed I am to have the love of these children.

Who am I? I am a mommy. (And proud of it.)

Leave a Reply

