h1

Seeing the “Must Sees”

April 26, 2006

Name any genre that I like in books or movies and if there’s a beloved classic that is so popular it defines the genre, the chances are good I’ve probably never read/seen it.

Romance… I have never seen “Casablanca,” which has been dubbed the greatest love story of all time. And to be honest, I don’t really want to. I’m not sure it could hold a candle to “The Notebook” anyway.

Fantasy… I have never read any of Tolkien‘s works. (I did see — and quite enjoyed — the Lord of the Rings trilogy of movies, however.)

Comedy… Oh, there are loads of highly popular comedy movies I have never seen, like “There’s Something About Mary” or the older “Animal House.”

Baseball Movies… Well, recently I blogged about the “Benchwarmers” movie and mentioned that I really loved baseball movies in general (but NOT that one). I got thinking about it, and realized that I still had not seen the very popular baseball movie, “Field of Dreams.” I had put it in my Netflix queue a month or so ago, so I bumped it up to the top of the line. Today, I sat down to watch it while I was preparing my eBay packages for the Post Office.

Wow, what a great movie! You really have to suspend disbelief to enjoy it, but it was so wonderful! I cried (no big surprise, I cry at just about every movie I see) and laughed, and was caught up in the stories and the characters’ lives. I’m so glad I saw this movie, and it is definitely joining my list of favorite baseball movies!

3 comments

  1. I’ve really enjoyed your blog!
    Currently, I’m staying home and trying to get my e-bay store established. Actually, I’m in the midst of revamping it. I was wondering if you could give me some advice?

    By the way, I really love your blog!

    Thanks…

    Lindsey


  2. […] 15, 2006 · 1 Comment A while back, I blogged about how I have a tendency to not see/read the “must see” movies, books, etc. […]


  3. […] Henkes and started reading it to her. I’ve never read this story before (but based on my track record with these things, I realize I am probably the only mommy who hasn’t) and I thought it looked […]



Leave a Reply

