h1

One Book I Won’t Be Reading… But Not for the Reason You Might Think

April 19, 2006

This morning I saw an interview with author Caitlin Flanagan, regarding her recent book To Hell With All That: Loving and Loathing Our Inner Housewife.

Supposedly, this book extols the virtues of the 1950s housewife, a woman who cared for her family and her home with enthusiasm and a sense of purpose. Some of you might be saying “Ugh!” right about now, but I admit I do find the June Cleaver mom & wife to be rather ideal, albeit in an anachronistic sort of way. I don’t hate housework. I hate trying to fit it into an already overcrowded schedule of things to do and places to go, but I don’t hate actually doing it. In fact, once I get past the angst and the stress of figuring out when to get it done, I sort of enjoy it. I feel blessed to have the home that I do, and I believe taking care of it is simply a matter of good stewardship.

But back to the book. I am quite insulted that Ms. Flanagan wrote this book. Not because of anything it contains, but because she is a WAHM who has a housekeeper and a nanny, for crying out loud! What does she know about finding satisfaction in keeping a tidy home when she’s paying someone to do it for her?

It’s comparable to me writing a book about car repair. After all, I drive a car, so that makes me qualified, right?

Ugh.

Leave a Reply

