h1

Naptime Tantrum

April 17, 2006

Me: Okay, Sophia, it’s naptime, let’s go potty and then pick out a story.
Her: “Can I have some more chocolate before I take a nap?”
Me: No.
Her: “Whhhyyyyyyyyy-uh?”
Me: Because you’ve already had enough, and you don’t need to eat chocolate right before your nap.
Her: “Can I have a snack out of the basket?”
Me: No, you’ve already had your snack. Now, go potty before you take your nap.”
Her: “Noooooo-uh! I don’t have to go potty!”
Me: (pulling down her pants and sitting her on the potty) Go.
Her: “Noooooo-uh! I don’t have to go potty!” (Crying commences.) (Tinkle, tinkle. Wipe. Pants up. Head to bedroom.)
Me: Pick out a story.
Her: (still crying. volume and pitch are both increasing.) “Noooo, I don’t want to take a nap!”
Me: If you don’t pick out a story, I will pick one out for you. (More crying/screaming. I pick a book, put her on the bed and sit down to read to her.)
Her: “I don’t want that book! I don’t like it!”
Me:Well, you had a chance to pick out one yourself and you didn’t. So I get to pick. (And she does like it, it’s a Disney Princess book.)

From there, it degenerated into a lot of screaming and fit-throwing the likes of which I have never seen my precious daughter do before. I give my kids a lot of second chances and advance warnings (probably more than I should), but this was so bad I pretty much had to put my foot down and say, “All right, you’ve been so poorly behaved, I cannot read you a story now. I will read you a story at bedtime tonight, but you get no story at nap time.” Which, of course, just led to more screaming and tantrum throwing. It was not pretty:

So now my ears are ringing and (I kid you not!) my ovaries hurt.

4 comments

  1. okay , I’m sorry , but I’m laughing. And I’m laughing simply because at least I’m not the ONLY ONE that this happens to!

    (( super duper hugs to you woman ))
    ~jo


  2. Inquiring minds want to know…so did she take a nap? Did she wear herself out from crying so much that she just fell asleep, doing that little hicupping breathing thing that always makes me feel like a bad mommy, or as Angela would say “a meanie meanie”! LOL
    Lisa


  3. I love that second picture.

    I have this moment with my three-year-old (or I did, when he was still napping). And, like you, I sometimes get to the breaking point, because he is CLEARLY too tired to do ANYTHING but nap. Which is how I feel when it’s over.


  4. Thank you so much for this post – my daughter has been throwing the hugest tantrums the past two days at nap time, using every delaying tactic she can think of. I am going crazy with the power struggle. Arg.



Leave a Reply

