h1

Clive Owen and Queen Elizabeth I

April 2, 2006


Tonight I enjoyed dinner out with three of my good friends and we were kicking around the idea of going to a movie afterward. Running through the list of what was playing, we eliminated the horror films, the kids’ films, the hip hop/gangsta film and the redneck film. That left us with Basic Instinct 2, Inside Man, and Failure to Launch. I was rooting for Inside Man because it stars Clive Owen, who is number one on my list of favorite leading men and has been ever since King Arthur. (As an aside, I think the poster for Inside Man would make for an interesting scrapbook layout.)

Sadly, my friends had no idea who Clive Owen was. And even though I know they will read this, I sent them his photo and filmography anyway just because I think they need to discover this guy! (Warning: subject change ahead)

So, as I was scanning through his filmography, I noted with great excitement that he was playing the roll of Sir Walter Raleigh in an upcoming movie titled “Elizabeth: The Golden Age.” Well, now, I do have a weakness for English period dramas, particularly if they involve Queen Elizabeth I, Gloriana. I exclaimed, “Ooooh!” (because how could it be any better than an English period drama with Clive Owen in a starring role?!?!?) and read the details.

My hopes were dashed rather quickly, however, as I discovered that this was a sequel to the 1998 film “Elizabeth” starring Cate Blanchett, with the same director. Cate Blanchett was wonderful in her portrayal of the Virgin Queen, but my compliments for the film stop there.

I realize that I have more interest in Queen Elizabeth I and her time period than your average movie-goer. I also realize that I probably know more about the subject than most would, since I’ve read several biographies on Elizabeth I and her parents. I was fully prepared to overlook any minor mistakes or omissions from the story of her life. But even so, I have to say that this is the most grossly inaccurate movie I have ever seen in my life. I don’t know why the filmmakers would just make up things when so many wonderful biographies have been written about this extraordinary woman… and why they would feel compelled to stray so far from the truth when the truth is every bit as fascinating as the fiction they presented. I have never left a movie so angry and disgusted and (in all honesty) feeling slightly betrayed at being sold a bill of good that just didn’t live up to its promises.

I really hate the idea of boycotting a Clive Owen movie, but I don’t think I could handle another historical travesty like the first movie was. So I probably won’t see it. But I might have to put it in my Netflix queue just to see what Clive Owen looks like in Elizabethan garb. hehehe

PS — we ended up seeing Failure to Launch, which was pretty good!

One comment

  1. […] actors. (Cate Blanchett, too, but I haven’t liked her much ever since she starred in the historical travesty “Elizabeth.” ) “Notes on a Scandal” was intense and well acted, but the […]



Leave a Reply

