h1

Who Am I? Where Do I Belong?

March 27, 2006


Our church, which we have attended regularly since the fall, is experiencing a time of transition, reorganization, and rebuilding. (There had been some upheaval within the church prior to the time when we started attending there.)

At our old church, we were very active in many different areas of ministry. I served in the nursery 1-2 times per month, wrote a monthly newsletter, worked as a group leader at Vacation Bible School every year, and assisted with meals for the sick. Dan was head usher and worked with the outreach program for the needy, as well as special projects on an as needed basis. We were home group leaders for a year, and after that served as assistant home group leaders.

After attending our current church for several months, we are both feeling called to become more involved… yet we are both wondering exactly what it is we are supposed to do, and are unsure of exactly what the church’s needs are. I’ve been discussing this with the pastor and his wife, and recalled that as part of our small groups leadership training at our old church, Dan and I both completed the DISC Biblical Personality System.

It’s very similar to the Myers Briggs type indicator, with each result compared to similar individuals in Scripture. The thing that I find really interesting about the test is that it actually has three results, not one. You are scored as your “Mask” (Public Self), your “Core” (Private Self), and your “Mirror” (Perceived Self).

So, I dug out the test booklet and re-read my results:

My Public Self is the “Peacemaker,” also described as the Diplomat or One Who Is Faithful. Peacemakers found in Scripture are Moses (Exodus 3, 4, 20, 32), John (John 19:26-27) and Eliezer (Genesis 24). In addition, Jesus exhibits the qualities of a Peacemaker in John 13:5-9. Peacemakers “exhibit a kind nature that is also very detail oriented. They care about people and possess the qualities that make them very meticulous at task completion. They want a steady environment which promotes security. Usually, they like to think issues through carefully, weighing how a decision will affect people. Peacemakers want facts and figures before they will make a decision. They feel uneasy when put in a situation where they feel deserted, or when forced to make a quick decision; especially if their decision will affect others. Peacemakers like people, but prefer to only have a few close friends. Given a choice, they would choose a small group rather than a crowd. Since they are highly sensitive, Peacemakers do not handle criticism well, as they have tried to do their best. Exactness is imperative in everything Peacemakers do. Often keeping their feelings to themselves, others may not be aware of their strong beliefs. Peacemakers are loyal to the leaders they support, and are excellent people to have on the team.”

I admit, there isn’t much there that I could argue with. Moving on…

My Private Self and my Perceived Self are the same. I suppose this means that I have a pretty good (realistic) idea of who I am and I’m not kidding myself. (At least I would like to think that’s what that means! LOL)

My Private Self and my Perceived Self are both the “Precisionist,” also described as the Perfectionist and Traditional One. Precisionists found in Scripture include Esther (Esther 4), Zechariah (Luke 1), and Joseph, Jesus’ Father (Matthew 1:1-23). In addition, Jesus exhibits the qualities of a Precisionist in John 2:23-25. Precisionists “exhibit a precise, detailed, stable nature. They are systematic thinkers who tend to follow procedures in both personal and business life. They act in a highly tactful, diplomatic fashion and rarely antagonize their associates consciously, taking care to avoid conflict. Extremely conscientious, they painstakingly require accuracy in work and maintain high standards. Precisionists like a protected and secure environment with set rules and regulations; they dislike sudden changes. They like people, but prefer having only a few close friends. Exactness is of the essence to Precisionists, and criticism (their greatest fear) is equated with failure. They can be counted on to carry out tasks correctly. They want exact facts and figures before they will make decision, and feel uneasy when forced to decide anything quickly. Predictability and security are the greatest goals for a Precisionist. This is true in all aspects of a Precisionist’s life; the more stable the environment, the happier they are.”

Again, I feel like this is pretty accurate (and it isn’t vastly different from the Peacemaker described previously). Nice to know I haven’t changed much in the year and a half since I took the test… but where does that leave me?

I will be praying for God to reveal to me His plan for my involvement at our church and to allow me the opportunity to best serve Him.

2 comments

  1. […] 110% of effort. So when that extraordinary effort is criticized, I am quite hurt. When I took the Biblical Personality Quiz, I came up as a “Precisionist” for my private and perceived self. The description […]


  2. […] church is in the process of drafting a new constitution.  Being a precisionist, I sat down with the copy that was handed out one Sunday and read through it with the proverbial […]



Leave a Reply

