h1

I Must Be Getting Old…

February 21, 2006

…because I’m feeling more mellow and, I’ll admit, a lot wiser than I used to be.

I recently have had some not very pleasant interactions with individuals who are at least 10 years my junior. There was a time when, not unlike them, I would fly off the handle and give them the verbal equivalent of forty lashes before you could even say “forty lashes.” Nowadays I’m more inclined to shrug and mumble, “Whatever.” I’ve even found myself laughing at the thought of how absolutely horrified they would be if they knew how much like (the younger) me they are. Once again, I find myself regretting that time travel technology does not exist, because it could be quite entertaining in this particular case. LOL

So, at the ripe age of almost 40, here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Things that are written off as “not a big deal” really can be (and often are) a big deal. Sometimes their effects just aren’t made apparent for a very long time.
  2. It is so much easier to be forgiving of another person’s faults than railing against them and expecting the person to change.
  3. Time does wound all heels. 🙂
  4. Anything worth doing is worth doing well.
  5. You should take care of your body today, because you might pay for it later if you don’t (see #1 above).
  6. Value what your loved ones think of you but don’t place any weight on other people’s opinions.
  7. Everyone has baggage, even if you don’t see them carrying it around. The grass rarely is greener on the other side.
  8. Anti-depressants are not necessary if you maintain a proper faith-based perspective on life. God is the original (and the best!) anti-depressant.
  9. In any group of people, there is always going to be at least one annoying person — the type who knows everything, thrives on conflict, can’t say anything nice, thinks they’re better than everyone else, etc. It’s best to just chalk these people up as “the bad apple” and avoid them as much as possible. See #2 above.
  10. Children were meant to have two parents raising them together. That’s why it takes two people to make a child.
  11. I still have a lot to learn….
Leave a Reply

