h1

Works for Me Wednesday: Yahoo Calendar

September 12, 2007

A year or two ago (maybe longer; I really don’t remember), I noticed that Dan and I were having some schedule conflicts.  I would tell him, “Hey, we’ve been invited to go to X with so-and-so on the 15th.  You wanna go?”  He would say, “Sure!” and then I would set it up.

Among my many other roles in this family, I am the social secretary above all else, keeping track of schedules, obligations, celebrations and appointments.  But it would never fail that as the 15th approached, Dan would completely forget our conversation and schedule something else.  Then there would be a lot of frustration (usually on my part, because stuff like that doesn’t bother him).

So, I created a private Yahoo Group of two — just Dan and me.  There is a calendar feature that allows us to schedule any planned activities or appointments.  The rule became “check the Yahoo calendar before you schedule anything,” and it has worked like a charm ever since.

If your item is a regularly scheduled activity (first Friday of the month, every other Tuesday, once a week, etc.), there is an option to select so the calendar will automatically repeat it — you don’t have to type it in each and every time.

But the best part?  The absolutely best part is the email reminder service.  When you plug in a calendar item, you can set it up to email you in advance.  For most items, like appointments, I tell it to remind me one day before.  For birthdays or things that require a little extra planning, I ask for reminders a week or so ahead of time.

I love my Yahoo calendar and would be lost without it!

3 comments

  1. Sounds kuel! Glad you found something that works for you!! We use Google Calendar (you can invite another person to see & edit your calendar) and we also use outlook, and invite the other to whatever event.


  2. This is a great idea! I often forget to tell my husband that company’s coming; he forgets to tell me he scheduled poker night. I love the tech-savvy twist! Thanks!


  3. I wish I could do something like this but I still have to train DH to look right at the calendar posted on the wall directly in front of him.

    Maybe after I get him to do that I can move it on to the computer? lol



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

